IMO, classes for dangerous goods

The relevant parts of SOLAS and MARPOL have been developed in great detail and incorporated into the International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code (IMDG Code), making this code the legal instrument for the maritime transport of dangerous goods and marine pollutants.

The carriage of dangerous goods and marine pollutants in seagoing vessels is regulated by the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) and the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL).

Classification of dangerous goods

Classification of dangerous goods For all types of transport (sea, air, rail, road, and inland waterways), the classification of dangerous goods, according to the kind of existing risk, is compiled by a committee of experts on the transport of hazardous goods at the United Nations.

Class 1.


Class 2.


Class 3.

Flammable liquids

Class 4.

Flammable solids or substances which, on contact with water, give off combustible gases

Class 5.1.

Oxidizing substances (agents) release oxygen, increasing the risk and intensity of the fire.

Class 5.2.

Organic peroxides – will burn the fastest and are sensitive to impact or friction.

Class 6.1.

Toxic substances

Class 6.2.

Infectious substances

Grade 7.

Radioactive substances

Grade 8.


Grade 9.

Various dangerous substances and objects